Databases

Access With Your Library Card!

Did you know your Placentia library card provides you FREE access to some of the best digital resources, apps and websites available today? Check out our resources page to find your digital library card perks. Connecting is as easy as a few clicks of your mouse.

Many of our databases are available through web or mobile apps.

Don't have a library card? Apply for a Placentia Library card in-person at the library during open hours, or apply for a virtual card online.


Entertainment and Book Resources

OverDrive/Libby
Download free eBooks, eAudiobooks, and eMagazines to your phone, eReader, tablet, computer, or mp3 device! Access through the website or an easy to use app. New titles and new releases added each month.

Hoopla
Instantly borrow free digital movies, music, ebooks, audiobooks, graphic novels, TV shows and more, 24/7 with your library card. No waiting, ever! Stream immediately or download to phones, tablets, for offline viewing anytime, anywhere.

Novelist K-8
An excellent resource when searching for recommended children’s books! This resource makes it easy to find the right book to match your child’s interests and reading level. Both fiction and non-fiction titles for children are included.

Novelist (Inside the Library Link / From Home Link)
Looking for book recommendations? From read-a-likes, book club resources and author lists find your next great read with Novelist!

Freegal
Enjoy access to 15+ million songs from 200+ genres with Freegal. Streaming is unlimited and you can download up to 5 songs each week, yours to keep until you delete. Create, save, and share playlists!

Zinio/RB Digital
Magazines have moved to the Libby app. Access to these titles in RBdigital will end on or before March 31, 2021. Get started with Libby.

Project Gutenburg
Project Gutenburg has over 27,000 free eBooks for both adults and children.

 LibriVox
Check out the many free audiobooks available at Librivox.

 Children's Books Online
Children's Books Online hosts a collection of illustrated antique books available to read online.


Lifelong Learning

New York Times Online

News, investigations, opinion, photos and video by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world.

Heritage Quest
Start researching your family history! Powered by Ancestry,® Heritage Quest provides you free access to a variety of searchable databases, convenient research guides, war records, census data, obituaries and much more. What are you waiting for; start building your family tree today!      

Pronunciator: Language Laboratory / Pronunciator: Laboratorio de Idiomas
Always meant to learn another language but kept putting it off? Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn any of the 163 languages included with personalized courses, movies, music, and more.

Consumer Reports
Everything you love about the Consumer Reports magazine in an easy to use, searchable website. Access thousands of product reviews, ratings and consumer safety guides right at your finger tips and free with your library card. Stay informed and safe!

BrainFuse JobNow & VetNow
Free live online assistance for job seekers, veterans, and their families.

DataAxle Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA)
Research database focusing on U.S. businesses, consumers, jobs and healthcare sources and data.


Student Resources

Gale Resources
Gale offers a variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research available in easy to use websites.

Each site provides you with peer reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; academic journals; statistics; images; websites; and videos or podcasts. Gale puts the right vetted content and tools at your fingertips!

ProQuest Resources
ProQuest offers a variety of research and academic resource databases.

ABC Mouse
The #1 learning app for children ages 2–8+ is available for free with your library card! ABC Mouse offers more than 8,500 activities that teach award winning curriculum in reading, math, science, health, social studies, art, and music. Make learning fun with books, games, songs, puzzles, videos, and more!

Tutor.com
Need a little extra help with your school work, a math problem troubling you or just need an extra pair of eyes to review a paper? Check out Tutor. com, where you can submit your questions and get live one-to-one help, available every day from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. Help for students from elementary through college!

Britannica School / Britannica Escolar
There’s nothing like a good old fashioned Encyclopedia to answer your questions. It is now searchable in an easy to use website and available in four versions: Elementary School, Middle School, High School and Spanish. No more volumes to page through and no more guessing with Google - start here with trusted sources and accurate, up to date information.

 Teaching Books
Books come to life with this engaging collection of resources about children's and young adult books.

 World Book Online
Visit World Book Online to shop for children's books, encyclopedias, activity books and more!

 Tumble Book Library
Tumble Book Library a free online collection of animated, talking picture books.


View or download this page as a PDF brochure.

Looking to search for books on our online catalog instead? Click here to search our catalog!